Skip to content

A Letter to Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

January 20, 2013

Ten years before Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. was killed by a man with a gun, a woman tried to stab him to death in Harlem, and nearly succeeded. The knife came so close to his heart that Rev. King recalls that “if I had sneezed, I would have died.” In his final, and most apocalyptic sermon, delivered on the eve of his assassination, Dr. King recalls a letter written by a young girl, a student from White Plains High School. Of all the letters he had received during his recovery, this is the only one he remembers. She wrote simply “Dear Dr. King: I am a ninth-grade student at the White Plains High School. While it should not matter, I would like to mention that I am a white girl. I read in the paper of your misfortune, and of your suffering. And I read that if you had sneezed, you would have died. And I’m simply writing to say that I’m so happy that you didn’t sneeze.”

I’ve long wondered who the student was. Does anyone know?

Here’s a link to the original sermon.

Happy birthday Dr. King

images

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2013 6:04 pm

    Hi,
    I’m wondering if you ever found out who the author of the original letter was/is?
    Thanks much,

    • December 20, 2013 6:20 pm

      I never have, despite putting out multiple inquiries. I live in hope.

Trackbacks

  1. Heritage Facts Bundle #3 | revgeary

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,199 other followers

