Skip to content

Sabbath Day

September 29, 2011

Today is August’s first school holiday, and an opportunity for Noelle and I to ask ourselves, “So how do we manage all of our other commitments when there is no school?” Anyone have some advice for these parents of a kindergartner? Reply below…

August and I will spend the day together today, of course, but what will lose out is my commitment to spend the sabbath hours while he is in school working on my dissertation. We need a better plan for the future.

* * * *

August and I had a lot of fun together – perhaps the best part for me was walking through Barnes and Noble with him this evening and having him shout out for all the store to hear: “Dad, you’re the best. You’re the best dad ever!” Everyone looked. I felt great. 🙂

We took the car in for repair, had lunch at a sidewalk cafe, took a long walk across town, got soaked in the rain, so … took a bath, got warm and dressed again, walked to the city and read books for the rest of the day. Noelle had dinner ready when we got home.

Only bummer is that the rain also soaked my Blackberry. Please lift up dry thoughts in my direction.

August and I fell asleep watching the stars this evening, and praying. I’m up again now and I have three hours left to work on my dissertation. I’m going to use them. This is sabbath rest, rejuvination and recreation. Goodnight.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Grandma Leslie permalink
    September 30, 2011 8:52 am

    Sounds like a fantastic Sabbath day to me.

    Here are two things Kevin and CC do: school holidays are great for play dates. Find a working parent (s-but it gets complicated for more than 2 families)who will be glad to trade school holiday child care time.

    Hope his helps!

    • September 30, 2011 1:12 pm

      August has a play date this afternoon with the children of Pastor Julie (the associate in Larchmont). The kids met at family camp this summer at our Presbyterian Camp and Conference Center in Holmes, NY.

  2. CC Clark permalink
    October 4, 2011 8:40 pm

    Hi Rev. Geary,

    Having had both a kindergartner (2 actually) and a dissertation to write, I can tell you, unequivocally, that the dissertation isn’t going anywhere but August is. My kids are no longer running through Barnes & Noble extolling my virtues. Even though they are wonderful kids, that magical age has passed and I missed a bunch of it trying to get work done. I’m sure I’m not telling you anything you don’t already know.

    To be practical, Leslie’s suggestion has indeed work well for us as sometimes work is unavoidable.

    -CC (Leslie’s daughter-in-law)

Leave a Reply

