Skip to content

Sabbath Day

January 13, 2012

I went to bed on last night thinking about my dissertation.

I woke up at 10:00 am this morning thinking about my dissertation. Spouse and son conspired to let me sleep in (a sabbath gift if ever there was one). I do remember a kiss from each sometime around sunrise.

I found a three hour and 22 minute youtube video of the grateful dead playing a concert in Germany and settled in for research. Spent the next six hours reading 14th century sermons and cataloging vocaubulary in the datebase I created last sabbath. I also wrote two pages of of dense notes. Certainly page-worthy stuff. (attention to vocaubulary established the use of irony in several sermons. Also got into the mind of the preacher by comparing scripture-citation-by-memory with the text of the vulgate and the Wycliffite text). Good stuff.

Having celebrated our one year anniverary in White Plains this weekend, and begun the transition of August to his own bed, Noelle and I got a sitter and went out for our first evening date in more than a year. Halleluiah! We had dinner at Aquario in West Harrison, overlooking the lake. 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

