Skip to content

An Ash Wednesday Playlist

February 22, 2012

Far more than new year’s day with all of it’s new year’s resolutions, well intentioned and quickly forgotten, Ash Wednesday is a real invitation to begin again.

We begin again not by reasserting ourselves and our very best intentions, by willing to be better, stronger, thinner. We begin not with self but with God. We begin not with what we can do but with what God is already doing. We begin by locating our story within the larger story of God working-out-salvation among us. We begin by catching a glimpse of God’s growing Realm of Love, how if flows in a neverending stream, and finding ourselves caught up in the current.

I have a very eclectic “Lenten Playlist” on my iPod which has accompanied me now for several seasons of growth and change. I prepare for worship on Ash Wednesday by playing these tunes in the sanctuary and letting them carry me to emotional places of loss, desire, hope and despair. They contain cries of anger, desperate need, public vulnerability, tears, fears, and more tears.

I’ve got lots of chant and sacred music on my playlist, and the obligatory JC Superstar and Godspell. But I’ve also collected Bruce Cockburn, Lenny Kravitz, Sarah McLachlan, Tracy Chapman, Ani DiFranco, Norah Jones, Paul Swartz, Natalie Merchant, Mickey Hart, Charolotte Church, Peter Gabriel, Sinead O’Conner, and U2. (I’ve just really dated myself or at least demonstrated my unwillinglness to spend money on music lately.)

Each one of these songs help me see my story as part of God’s story.

I need some new songs. A friend just suggested Awake My Soul by Mumford and Sons, and another Dear God by Smokie Norful.

What would you put on a Lenten playlist?

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 22, 2012 11:39 am

    Beautiful and inspiring blog Pastor. Thank you for this message today.
    Blessings and grace,
    Vince

Leave a Reply

