Skip to content

The First Day of Spring: My Soul/Soil Rejoices

March 21, 2012

Today was the first day of spring.

Ten minutes before our alarm was set to go off, I awoke to the sound my five year old saying “Dad, it’s time to get up.”  I said that the sun wasn’t up yet, so we shouldn’t be up either. And he replied, ‘But the birds are singing. They’ve been singing for a while. That means it is a new day.”

It has been a new day, indeed, first proclaimed by God’s minstrel birds.

Our walk to school this morning was accompanied by August’s bird watcher’s book, and we took all the time we wanted identifying birds by song stylings, feather shapes and beak forms. We acknowledged the forsythia in bloom. And encounted blooming flowers.

By sad coincidence, when we arrived at school August saw a girl from his class and took off after her – waving goodbye over his shoulder. I stood in shock – I get a kiss and hug every morning. It is part of a whole ritual/routine. The principle of the school looked over to me and asked ‘You didn’t get any love?”

Maybe this is part of spring too.

We broke out the shorts today, to celebrate the spring  solstice – equal hours of light and darkness. From here on out, the light wins.

And we broke ground on our garden. Since I knew I had to go back for meetings at the church this evening, I came home 30 minutes early this afternoon to spend time with August. We spent the warm late-afternoon weeding the patch of ground which will be our garden this summer. And then we turned the soil with spade and shovel.

Perhaps this weekend we can create or buy a fence t protect the garden from squirrels and rabbits, and be ready for planting. First in, according to August, will be the carrots.

This is our first garden in our new home. Envy for those with mature gardens, already enjoying the asparagus.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Grandma Leslie permalink
    March 21, 2012 7:16 am

    Like August, this week I noticed that the birds are singing way before it gets light. From now on I won’t just be curious about their timing, but recognize the herald of a new day. My recent prayers that God would help me be more aware of his creation on a regular basis are being answered. “And a little child shall lead them.” PTL

  2. Arlene Rogers permalink
    March 21, 2012 9:04 am

    Glad to hear you are carrying on the garden tradition in your new home. The love of gardening is a good way to keep our children grounded. (sigh, I couldn’t help myself) We still have August’s “snake” to guard our garden from birds back here in Setauket.

Leave a Reply

