Skip to content

Sabbath Day at Vacation’s End

April 13, 2012

This is my weekly post on my sabbath rest. This was to have been a vacation week – but nothing went according to plan.

I took Easter Monday as a sabbath day in place of the day I could not take last week, and then I had planned four days of vacation. My intent was to spend six hours a day on my dissertation and the rest with my family.

Oh well.

I think I got in two and a half hours of sustained work on the dissertation – the first real work in months. That was Monday morning. And then Noelle’s work and other things conspired to keep me from anything further. I got nothing more done, beyond ‘wanting’ to work at it.

We did have some really good family times this week, in particular the afternoon of “rock climbing” at Cranberry Lake Preserve and our “vacation dinner” on Wednesday.Tonight we had family movie night, with select scenes from The Princess Bride.

August and I also had many adventures this week. He and I participated in a seed planting program at Cranberry Lake Preserve with our friend Taro. August was quoted in a local paper talking about the garden we are planting this year and his hopes for cooking lots of soup. It is just seven days later, and already we see green seedlings coming up. On Wednesday August and I joined The Rev. Sarah Henkel in collecting compost for our gardens. We are preparing our soil outside. Inside, we planted 100 more seedling cups – everything from parsley to tomatoes. Now we wait.

And then, of course, there was a day of responding to the vandalism of our car – that’s right, someone threw a large cement planter through the back window of our Kia sometime around 3:30 in the morning on Tuesday. (I hesitate to post a photo, but it was an impressively large planter. This may be the end of the car.)  Calls to the police, with the insurance company, the claims agent and the adjuster took time, as did taking our other car in to the body shop to repair the damage from the car accident last week (not my fault, but still … we were beginning to feel like Job by Tuesday.)

At the end of these five days – I could use a day off and a vacation.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2012 8:48 pm

    Good that you got in the 2.5 hours dissertating! I found that taking breaks every hour or so, and mini-breaks more frequently during the tough sections, kept me going on those lovely days when sustained dissertating is possible. You know you’re really gonna get it done when you look forward to dissertating!

    • April 13, 2012 10:30 pm

      Thank you for the encouragement Carla. I had hoped to have chapter one sketched by the end of this week. But I AM itching to get it done.I got another two hours in tonight, and another helpful observation from the data. Forging ahead.

Leave a Reply

