Skip to content

Faith Sharing – Gratitude

May 9, 2012

Faith Sharing is a regular part of our worship at White Plains Presbyterian Church. The following was shared by a member of the congregation on Sunday, October 16, 2011.

Growing up in the Eastchester Presbyterian Church in the Bronx I was very aware that our church helped people in need in our community.  Rev. Farrell distributed our gifts on a confidential basis.  It never seemed important to know specifics, just that there were people in need and we provided for them.

During our monthly communion celebrations we had a second offering for the pastor’s discretionary fund.  At Thanksgiving and Christmas, we collected food for families in need.  Sorting and packing the cans and boxes was part of my holiday preparations.

When my daughter was four years old, I was laid-off.  During six months of unemployment I struggled to make ends meet.  It wasn’t something I talked about with anyone other than my mother. So imagine my confusion (and embarrassment) when Rev. Farrell, carrying one of the boxes I’d packed the previous Sunday, rang my bell one morning.  He also gave me $35.00 to buy a Christmas tree and a gift for my daughter, and instructed me to bring my most pressing bill to church the next Sunday for the church to pay.

So, God taught me that my offerings were not about duty, but gratitude for his grace and blessings.  

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

