Skip to content

Faith Sharing – Nurture in Community

May 9, 2012

Faith Sharing is a regular part of our worship at White Plains Presbyterian Church. The following was shared by one of our young members on Youth Sunday, May 6, 2012. Read more about the service here.

Nelson Mandela once said that “our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate, our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.” He later goes on to say that “we are born to manifest the glory of God that is within us”. Though I thoroughly agree with this statement I believe that no human being can achieve greatness without people to support them. I am very lucky to have such a support in this congregation.

I feel as though through every step of my life so far I have had this congregation support and love me. I remember when I first moved to White Plains with my family. I didn’t know anybody and I was very shy . I can still remember my first day at this church. I went into the sanctuary expecting just to have a worship service and go to Sunday school; instead what I found was a family. I made instant friends in the church. Most of whom I am still in contact with. The elders at this church never fail to ask me about my progress in school or how I am doing. Even people who are visiting the church for the first time can feel the love and support this church has to offer. The congregation was there with me when I took my first communion in 4th grade. The congregation was with me when Awa and I took had took our confirmation.

At this time I would like to thank Mrs. Goode for being my confirmation mentor. Several members of this congregation attended my 8th grade graduation for which I am grateful. There are so many people in this congregation that have added a positive influence to my life whether it was a smile and a good morning or they had a story to tell about life.

The youth group has also been a source of support in this church. The youth group has been an amazing thing to be part of. I have enjoyed our dinners, our lock ins and all of our bonding moments. We have grown to be excellent fiends and I really cannot imagine my life without any of you.We are a congregation but we are also friends and more importantly we are a family. Without each other we lose what makes us an encouraging spirited and Christian loving congregation. If I could I would list the times that this congregation has helped me but I do not think I am allowed to keep you all here until Friday. So thank you.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Carole Marsden permalink
    May 9, 2012 9:41 pm

    Thank you for sharing this. I grew up in WPP and it was indeed family. That was back in the 50s and 60s and my faith journey began. My dad said years after-every time the church doors were opened you were there. It was a place of love, acceptance and frankly safety in a turbulent time. I am no longer in WP but where ever I have moved to the examples set by WPP have led me to where to worship. That is what a church needs to do-to give us roots to grow and wings to fly. I have a dear friend who is a minister who tells his congregations-The youth are not the church of tomorrow, they are the church of today. Thank you WPP!

    • May 9, 2012 10:11 pm

      Thank you Carole, for being the first to respond to this new type of post on my blog, the faith sharing of the congregation. And what you have shared is itself faith sharing. May I read your note to the congregation on Sunday? I will certainly share it with the young person who spoke last week.
      Roots and Wings – SOunds like a nice name for a youth group.

      • Carole Marsden permalink
        May 10, 2012 6:23 am

        Thank you for your note, I would be honored if you shared my reply.You made me both puddle up and smile
        Blessings
        Carole

Leave a Reply

