Skip to content

Sabbath Day – Credo

May 17, 2012

Dissertating, mostly.

Re-read Walter Hilton’s Scale of Perfection with an eye to his fourteenth-century Middle English vocabulary. Found myself engrossed in his theology of ‘faith as feeling” and the reforming of the image of God in ourselves.

It was also a beautiful day today. I was able to take a long walk with Noelle and share my progress(?) on chapter one.

During my lunch break I got a message from a friend asking me to pray for a young girl (eight years old) who is in the hospital with colitis. I responded that she would be in my prayers, and that I would put her on the prayer list at my own church. But more than that, I happen to be attending a fund-raiser for the crohns and colitis foundation this weekend. I didn’t know why, but now I do. Prayer is a blessing in so many ways. Check it out if you’re in the area.

I’m looking forward to the special Heritage Day service on Sunday. We are celebrating our confessional heritage and the PC(USA) Book of Confessions with an new liturgy composed just for this day. Lots of special music.

As many readers know, I always read poetry on my sabbath day. The following poem is called “Credo” and was composed by Dorothee Soelle in 1969. It can be found in Renata Wind’s new biography, Dorothee Soelle: Mystic and Rebel.

Credo

I believe in Jesus Christ

who was right when he

“an individual who can’t do anything,”

just like us

worked to alter every condition

and came to grief in so doing.

.

Looking to him I realize

how our intelligence is crippled,

our imagination throttled

and our efforts in vain

because we do not live as he did.

Every day I am afraid

that he died for nothing

because he is buried in our churches

because we have betrayed his revolution

in our obedience to and fear of the authorities.

.

I believe in Jesus Christ

who rises again into our life

so that we shall be free

from prejudice and presumptuousness,

from fear and hate

and push his revolution onward

and toward his reign.

Leave a Reply

