Skip to content

Stewardship – Trusting Our Money to God

October 25, 2012

Faith Sharing is a regular part of our worship of God at the White Plains Presbyterian Church. The following testimony was shared by a member on Sunday, October 21, 2012.

 This is not only a faith story but a stewardship story – it’s that time of year. The other day I was telling a friend about my experience with my pledge this year and as a result I am here.  Last fall our pastor, Jeff, spoke to the Church Council, requesting that we all pledge and consider increasing our pledge.  I had no trouble pledging, but increasing my pledge was another thing.  After all I was a senior citizen living on limited resources; yet I also felt that I should support our new pastor in whatever way I could.  After much thought and prayer, I decided that I would increase my pledge $50 per month – a lot of money to me.  Needless to say I spent many hours trying to figure out how I could do this and not have to dip into my emergency fund.

Now that we are ten months into the year I find that it was no problem.  I have more discretionary money than I have had in a long time.  Even with the additional pledge amount I find I have extra money.   You say, “how can this be?” Yes, the Lord acts in mysterious ways – such as lots of usable coupons, at the dentist checkup I was told not to come back for six months, and fewer vet bills.

The most astonishing thing happened one day while I was playing bridge.  Someone said they called Optimum and said it was too expensive and the price was lowered and suggested the rest of us should do the same.  Even though I had my doubts, I called Optimum.  I was right.  They said they could do nothing about lowering my bill even though I threatened to change to Fios.  But a couple of days later, I imagine after being prodded by the Lord, they called back and offered me the new subscriber rate for one year – more channels and a savings of $40 per month.  The NY Times will also give you the introductory rate of half price for six months if you have been a long time subscriber.  Yes, the Lord does work in mysterious ways.

As I said, I have extra money this year.  I am truly blessed and am again considering increasing my pledge, and if I do, I know I will not have any problems keeping my pledge.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Noelle Damico permalink
    October 25, 2012 3:15 pm

    Jeff, whose faith sharing is this? It doesn’t say on the website

    Sent from my iPhone

    • October 25, 2012 5:07 pm

      It’s my policy not to post the names of the congregants. I also took out the name of the woman who was spoken to in the story.

Trackbacks

  1. An Orange Sabbath Day « revgeary

Leave a Reply

