Skip to content

Sabbath Day

April 11, 2013

Sabbath Day is a weekly post to keep me accountable for observing a weekly time of rest and  restoration. It is a day for myself, my family, and ultimately for God to use.  

When we moved two years ago, none of our bedroom furniture fit up the stairs to the second floor of the house we are renting. As a result, we have been sleeping on a futon ever since. In a great leap forward for bodily rest and a good night’s sleep, today I set up our new Essentia organic memory foam mattress in the bedroom. Our new platform bed will arrive on Tuesday. Thus begins our adventure in green bedding. Tonight I will have the most comfortable (and healthy) rest in years.

Most of the rest of the day was spent reading, walking, climbing at the gym, napping, and playing with August.

I want to record here on my blog something I posted on Facebook earlier today. It is a reflection on a conversation I had with my son August on our way to an immigration rally yesterday – one of many which took place as part of a national day of solidarity with the eleven million undocumented immigrants in this country. I attended the rally with The Rev. Sarah Henkel and with a member of the congregation who commented, “This is why I love my church.”

564697_10151558195251351_321193751_n547672_10151550077298896_1471140385_n

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

My six you old son and I were discussing immigration on the way to a rally yesterday. He asked me why people from other countries come to this one, and I began by describing typical pull factors: economic and social opportunity. (Which is true of documented immigrants).

But he said, “I don’t think so dad. I think most people come here because of war.” And he was, as usual, correct. Armed conflict and foreign intervention is one of the major push factors in undocumented immigration (along with economic policies of neoliberal deregulation, privatization and free trade).

As we discussed borders, work visas, imprisonment and deportation August simply said, “It isn’t fair.”

If a six year old understands this, surely congress can get up to speed with a little help. So August and I add our voices this week to call for compassionate and just immigration reform – now.

You can read a Presbyterian Church (USA) social witness policy on standing with immigrants here. For those who would like to explore biblical and biographical foundations for immigration reform I recommend a new book by Ched Myers (Mennonite) and Matthew Colwell (Presbyterian), Our God is Undocumented: Biblical Faith and Immigrant Justice.

67914_10200941176315910_160438288_n

Oh. And I have finally caught up with everyone else and finished Downton Abbey Season 2.!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

