Skip to content

Sabbath Day – All Hallows / All Saints

October 31, 2013

My weekly accountability to the Fourth Commandment.

Continuing a recent theme of “much needed rest” I slept in today until almost 11:30. I know that the best way to catch up on sleep is to actually get to bed at a decent hour, but that has been challenging lately. A combination of lots of work, reading, and the release of new shows on Netflix have kept me up too late. I wIll work on that.

I then read for about 90 minutes, listened to some music and took a shower. I was just settling in to read for another hour when I found out that the oldest member of the congregation I serve had passed away this morning at the age of 104. She lived just around the corner from me, so I immediately went over to visit with her three daughters. We laughed a lot a we remembered a woman who enjoyed every day of her life and who died as she lived – the way she wanted and on her own schedule. Today she joint the great company of saint in light. Alleluia!

Tomorrow is All Saints Day.

But today is still All Hallows Eve, so Noelle and I took August to visit some friends and to trick or treat in their neighborhood. We spent last Halloween with this same family in the aftermath of Superstorm Sandy. They host a dozen families or so for pizza before traipsing around for candy, and the neighborhood is filled with more kids in costume than I have seen in many years. A good time was had by all.

16265_10201032437108907_665877928_n

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

