Skip to content

Sabbath Day – Purging, Paul and Popcorn

December 14, 2013

This is my weekly post on how I used my Sabbath for rest, renewal and refreshment.

An all too brief post for a very good day.

Much of my day this week was used for cleaning house. Bob the Builder has ensured that the words “reduce, reuse, recycle” are applied everywhere in our house. However, as our family contemplates purchasing our first home, we seem to be using the words “downsize, divest, and discover.” In other words, get rid of stuff, create a smaller eco-footprint, and engage in (even) more of the important things in life. For several months now we have been simplifying our life by unburdening ourselves of our many possessions and giving it away. I have just discovered furnitureshare.org in Westchester, who will help us transfer some of our unused and stored furnishings to those who can better use them. I cannot express how GREAT it feels to get rid of stuff.

In between periods of cleaning (including the garage) I spent time reading a new commentary of Paul’s epistle to the Romans. I have been reading Ted Jennings for years, and have been stimulated and challenged by each of his books. A few years ago his book Reading Paul / Thinking Derrida helped me put much of the New Paul scholarship into preachable form. It is my hope that his new Outlaw Justice: The Messianic Politics of Paul will do the same for my sermons in 2014 during which the lectionary delivers a steady stream of Corinthians and Romans. I heard this book reviewed at the annual meeting of the Society for Biblical Literature this year, with a response from Ted. I am contemplating a new Bible study at the church to work through accretions of tradition (especially Luther) than inhibit our reading of Paul. (Hmmm, not unlike cleaning house and unburdening oneself of the useless past).41EheLagueL._SY344_PJlook-inside-v2,TopRight,1,0_SH20_BO1,204,203,200_

My evening, and the first part of the next morning, was spent with a good friend watching a double feature of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey back-to-back with The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug. In 3D! Six hours of Tolkien, Peter Jackson, and never-ending popcorn.

Shalom.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

