Skip to content

Sabbath Day

January 24, 2014

A Weekly Post on Sabbath Practice

.

“Thinking is best after prayer, but will be none the worse for a meal and a glass of wine.”

– Brother Cadfael

I headed to bed last night with the thought, “please don’t be getting sick.”

I managed to communicate this to my family before falling asleep, so I was allowed to sleep in today. I woke up around 10:00 and decided that I did not feel well enough to go climbing.

Instead I settled into a chair with a full pot of coffee within reach and began my first Brother Cadfael Mystery. Cadfael, whose story is set in twelfth century England, had been a crusader and sailor before becoming a monk. Yes, I have been a medievalist for a decade and a half and have never before read Ellis Peters [gasp]. Time to correct that. I think I have all of the books, or most of them, in the basement – so here goes. I began with The Leper of Saint Giles (1981).

(Despite the fact that my wife is an aficionado, I have also never seen he BBC productions of the Brother Cadfael Mysteries with Derek Jacobi. I’ll read the books first.)

I spent most of this day reading on and off while cleaning the house. I spent my evening with the Green Team from my church, and returned home to finish the mystery. Having finished this quick post, I will begin Monk’s Hood (1980) and head back to bed.

That’s it. Relaxing self-care and an attempt to stay well.

Happy sabbath.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Grandma Leslie permalink
    January 24, 2014 8:48 am

    Feel better. I hope that you’re just feeling under the weather and aren’t sneezing like me. Think I’m in a Zyrtek commercial 🙂

    • January 24, 2014 10:25 am

      A good day of rest is good for the body as well as the soul. Tremendously better, thanks.

      Sometimes I think we get sick when we feel we can’t stop. I had been planning to do some work at home – but my body demanded something else.

      You, Leslie, are a model of resting when necessary. Thanks.

  2. Betsy Witte permalink
    January 25, 2014 3:59 pm

    Hi Jeff…Your mother put me on to your emails…I’ve become a regular follower…thanks for posting (Betsy from St Matthew Presbyt. in Silver Spring and
    Vanderbilt Presbyt in Naples…)

Leave a Reply

