Skip to content

Sabbath Day – Overdoing It

April 11, 2014

Sabbath Post for Thursday, April 10, 2014

So, I wanted to take a walk today.

The weather was going to be beautiful – 65 degrees and sunny.

Spring seems finally to have taken hold.

So I wanted to take a walk.

Noelle needed the car in the middle of the day, so I plotted out a way she could drop me off at a trailhead after we dropped our son off at school. She could then have the car for the day and pick me up whenever her meetings were over.

The idea looked good on paper. A long, continuous cross-county trail that I could walk on all day. Starting just a few miles from home.

By 8:45 I was headed into the woods, following the last two miles of the South and then moving on to the North County Trail. This is a Rails-to-Trails conversion project running 40 miles through Westchester following the path of the old New York Central Railroad, Putnam Division.

photo

I walked until 2:30.

I walked 19 miles.

Slightly uphill all the way.

I’m sore, have blisters, and can barely move.

It was a good day.

Week three of blooming things has produced an array of color – yellow, red, pink, purple, greens, orange!, and grey-fuzzy.

I saw deer, snakes, squirrels, more snakes, lots of birds, evidence of owls, and a great big bumble bee that smacked me in the face.

At one point I realized that I hadn’t had a thought in maybe a mile and a half. I was  simply walking and watching.

Cool.

photo 2

I crossed streams and rivers,  wetlands, a reservoir and an amazing old train bridge. I passed parks and preserves I have already hiked, and several I plan to. I rested briefly beside a secluded lake. I greeted bikers and hikers and group of men fishing.

I got sunburnt.

I finished my hike at the Trailside Cafe enjoying a very refreshing green apple, cucumber, celery juice. I had walked from Elmsford/Eastview to Yorktown Heights.

Then I sent 90 minutes on the playground with August after school.

When I got home I took a long bath.

And went to bed.

photo 3

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cathy Surgenor permalink
    April 15, 2014 6:38 pm

    19 miles! Were you able to get out of bed the next day? Great read though, thank you.

Trackbacks

  1. The Westchester 100: Hikes 51-60 | revgeary

Leave a Reply

