Skip to content

Sabbath Day

May 29, 2014

I keep the sabbath on Thursday. This weekly post is a record of what I do with this gift of time.

 photo 1

Took a lovely walk today in the Westmoreland Nature Preserve in Mt. Kisco. There are more than nine miles of trails within the preserve, as well as several cross paths from the Bedford Riding Lanes Association. I walked at least six.

photo 3

Today was a surprisingly cool day, especially under the canopy of trees. Spots of sunshine were particularly welcome and often stunning in their play of color. These ferns appeared in the southwest corner of the property on the yellow loop around a lake.

photo 4

There are also numerous ponds within the preserve. This photo was taken at Lost Pond in the north-east corner of the preserve. From here it was on past Scots Pond and Bechtel Pond to return to the nature center. By the time my four hours of exploring and hiking were over, the bus full of school children who were here when I arrived had returned to school. I had the nature center to myself where I met the snakes, turtles, geckos, and the tarantula. By the way, they have a stuffed and preserved Bison head for sale, if anyone is interested. There is a sign hanging around his neck saying “I am for sale. Make me an offer.”

I checked it out on ebay. Apparently is is worth between $1500 and $3200.

I guess this is how they hope to make their budget.

Spent two hours on the playground with August and his friends, and then helped him with his homework. After that it was off to swimming lessons. He swam the length of the pool for the first time.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Grandma Leslie permalink
    May 30, 2014 7:05 am

    Missed you at the Imagining meeting, especially when people kept asking me for you. Finally, the light bulb went on. It was Thursday. Glad yo took your Sabbsth. Glad you spent it doing things you enjoy.

Leave a Reply

