Skip to content

Sabbath Day

October 11, 2014

I have grown very spotty with my sabbath day posts. (I have grown very spotty with my sabbath day practice). Nevertheless, I have kept more sabbaths than I have written about. I do not want this one to be lost, though most of how I spent my day is not of a public nature.

After dropping my son off at school, I drove up to Yorktown Heights and parked my car in the public lot across from the Trailside Cafe. My goal for the day was to hike the last 5.4 miles of the North County Trailway. I decided I would spend my time reflecting on a lifetime of friendships, a humbling experience to be sure. As I pondered love, friendship, experience, regret, shame, grace, growth, and reconciliation I was motivated to clock in something better than 3.5 miles per hour. I spent much time in prayer for myself and for the many amazing people I have known. I found myself moving between an adolescent wishing could do it all over again, Nietzsche’s affirmation of the eternal return, a twelve-step desire to apologize to those I have hurt, and sheer gratitude.

By completing my hike from Yorktown Heights to Baldwin Place (in Putnam County) I have completed the entire North-South Trailway, which marks my fourth complete hike across Westchester County from North to South. (I have also hiked the existing Hudson River Valley Greenway, the Old Croton Aqueduct, and the existing portions of the East Coast Greenway, as well as the Briarcliff-Peekskill Trailway). The North-South County Trailway is a 35 mile rails-to-trails project, converting the old Putnam Division of the New York Central Railroad (the ‘Old Put’) into a trail for walkers and bikers. It is paved throughout, which makes for excellent biking but rough-on-the-feet walking.

2014-10-09 10.37.58

This day completes 98 of the Westchester 100, a goal I have pursuing since last spring. At this point I am conscious that I can be almost anywhere in my county and be within a couple of miles of a forest, park, preserve, sanctuary, trail or greenway. And I have memories of every space, river, creek, or wetland.

The remainder of my day was spent in family planning, playground duty, housecleaning, and sermon prep.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

