Skip to content

Sabbath Day: Nicaragua

July 30, 2015

pais nicaragua - artista william gonzalez - obra las islas de solentiname

So, a quick post on my way out the door. I am performing a wedding on Long Island this weekend and then off for vacation, beginning Sunday. On this sabbath day I helped my son deliver food to the local food pantry, shared  communion with a member of the church I serve, and did a lot of laundry. For dinner we celebrated National Cheesecake Day with half-price slices at The Cheesecake Factory. Now, we’re off.

Ernesto-Cardenal-667x500

This past week of reading multi-national literature focused on Nicaragua and Ernesto Cardenal. Cardenal was already an accomplished poet when he came to Colombia University. But if I had ever known, I had certainly forgotten, that after Cardenal experienced his religious transformation in New York he then spent two years at the Abbey of Gethsemane with Thomas Merton. There, in Kentucky, he became the man I first met by reading The Gospel in Solentiname. I visited these stories again this week, reading a different discourse each day from this brilliant, peasant led interaction with the Christian gospel story. The image at the top of this post is of the Solentiname islands.

I began the week reading With Walker in Nicaragua and Other Early Poems 1949-1954. This collection reads like a vision quest, re-narrating the Central American experience of brutal colonization. It is dream-like, or rather nightmare like.

Grateful for the opportunity afforded by my sabbath practice to reach back and look at this stuff again.

2783126_86f22ae738_m

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

