Skip to content

Sabbath Day – Florida Gulf

August 28, 2015

2015-08-14 08.42.42-1

Today was the last sabbath day of summer to spend with my son. At this time next week he will be in school. We spent most of our day cleaning the apartment and especially his room. The goal was to clear all the floor space so that we could vacuum. Mission accomplished. We interpsersed  our work with part of the movie “The Book of Kells” and a bit of reading. Then he went to Rye Playland with some friends.

It has been a month since I have written a sabbath reflection, mostly because I have been on vacation. I will blog more fully about our trip later, but essentially we spent a week exploring New England and another week in Florida. The latter included a fishing expedition with my family, including my son and nephew. The photo above is of my proud son’s catch of a 14 inch grouper.

I read a lot on vacation, but returned this week to my intentional reading of multi-national literature. This week I read Ernest Hemingway’s The Old Man and the Sea, in part because my nephew will be reading it in school this year, and in part because of our family fishing expedition. Hemingway wrote this novel while living in Cuba, and it was nostalgic to imagine the lights of Havana by night along the Malecon. In the novel, the old man Sebastian imagines sharpening his knife in Guanabacoa. I visited the statue of Hemingway which sits in Guanabacoa harbor during my second visit to Cuba in 1998. This short novel won the Pulitzer Prize in 1953 and Hemingway was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1954.

ernest-hemingway

Leave a Reply

