Skip to content

Sabbath Day – Pakistan I

October 30, 2015

My Thursday Sabbath posts are a way of keeping myself accountable, in a public way, for observing the Sabbath.

As you all know, I have not had a full Sabbath day in over a month. Important things keep intruding.

This is one reason my project of reading multinational literature is so important to me. It allows to me find small Sabbath times every day to make up for what has been several months often inevitable interruptions of Sabbath days.

That said, my day today began joyously over breakfast with colleagues from Concerned Clergy for Choice / Family Planning Advocates,  meeting to support women’s lives and the work of Planned Parenthood. This has been a rough time (is there ever NOT a rough time?) for Planned Parenthood. Deceptively edited videos and outright lies have dominated the Republican candidates race and FOX News cycle. Today the interfaith clergy celebrated and supported the good work of Planned Parenthood for reproductive choice. The photo below is from a demonstration I participated in last year. We all know that Planned Parenthood got its start in the Brooklyn, but we have a local connection here – Margaret Sanger, founder of PP, began her nursing career at what would become White Plains Hospital.

PLanned Parenthood

After this breakfast I had a few hours of work-related errands to run.

Earlier this week Pakistan and Afghanistan were hit by a massive earthquake which has left hundreds dead and thousands injured.The following day our church book group was discussing I am Malala, by Malala Yousafzai, the girl who stood up for education and was shot by the Taliban. Malala won the Nobel Peace Prize for being “the bravest girl in the world,” and used the award to establish The Malala Fund which works to raise girls voices and ensure that every girl has access to 12 years of free, safe, quality primary and secondary education. I decided to make Malala part of my program of reading multi-national literature even though, as it turned out, I could not attend the discussion. I have called this post Pakistan I because I have another Pakistani novel on my shelf I am eager to read but could not work in this week. More on that in a few months.

malala-yousafzai-ftrI guess my Sabbath day was unified by listening to the lives of women and girls, and promoting their human rights.

As we go forward, please pray for the people of Pakistan and Afghanistan at this difficult time.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

