Skip to content

Sabbath Day – Aure Entuluva!

March 17, 2017

I’m pretty sure it was a month ago that I began my Sabbath post with something like, “Forgive me, friends, it has been a month since my last Sabbath post.” Well, here I am again, four weeks later repeating myself.

The short explanation is that my Sabbath days continue to be a mid-winter routine of coffee and reading, with an afternoon visit to the nature center and the usual family stuff. Not much to write about. (My month of reading has been inspiring, though more on that another time.)

This last month, however, has also involved several “flex days” in which I have done many hours of work on my Sabbath days to accommodate flexible hours during the rest of the week (parent-teacher conferences, a snow day, car-sharing, pastoral emergencies). It kinda messes up the very idea of Sabbath – the time set aside from regular routine for rest and re-creation. This ‘flex-schedule’ is unusual, and I’m working on it.

Noelle and I have had more-than-the-usual amount of time to talk this last two weeks, which has been a joy. She’s out the next two nights, and I’ll be home with August, so today was spent researching my sermon for Sunday. (All day. I even bent August’s ear while at the nature center about St. Paul, messianic time, death personified, andRoman slavery.) I’ll flex this time tomorrow, I promise, by coming home early to make the corned beef and cabbage.

Yesterday was the Ides of March, the day on which despotic Julius Caesar was murdered and the Roman Republic died. The immediate result was civil war, but eventually the consolidation of the Empire. When young Octavian emerged victorious, he became Augustus, the first emperor, and ruled through what came to be known (by his sycophants) as the Golden Age of Rome. The chaos that followed, the Silver Age, was the crisis through which both Jesus and Paul lived and which forms the background of their movements. State power, personal power, legal exemptions from the law, terror, fear, violent conquest and exploitation on one side; resistance, community, economic mutualism, ethnic solidarity and hope on the other. (You guessed it. This is what I’ve been reading all day.)

the_battle_of_pelennor_fields

The 15th of March is also the anniversary of The Battle of Pelennor Fields. In honor, I am ending my day reading Tolkein’s The Children of Hurin. 

Aure Entuluva!

Pastor Jeff

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

