Skip to content

Sabbath Day: A Call for Help

July 28, 2017

Sabbath Day: My Weekly Reflection on What Really Matters

kjdsnfkjln.jpg_1718483346

This is a call for help.

I’m calling on earth defenders, scientists, preachers, teachers, theologians and friends.

In September, I will observe my fourth Season of Creation with the congregation I serve. This new liturgical season grounds our congregational sense of who we are, where we live, and how to live faithfully.

Before then I will spend a couple of weeks in Guatemala and Costa Rica with indigenous communities resisting extractive industries (in the form of deforestation, agribusiness, the mining of minerals and fossil fuels, and the damming of watersheds).

When I come home, I plan to preach a four-week sermon series on extractive industry and Christian discipleship. I am looking for biblical/theological reflections on the following topics:

  • Forest Sunday: Deforestation is our ecological original sin. Our scripture readings will focus on the great primeval forest in Genesis 2 and the passages that reflect on the loss of the great cedar forests of Lebanon.
  • Land Sunday: The Agricultural Revolution, or the origins of agriculture, are remembered in the Genesis stories of Cain and Abel, as well as the story of Naboth’s Vineyard, in which land is consolidated by elite’s for export.
  • Wilderness Sunday: On this Sunday I may speak about carbon addiction in the form of coal, oil, and gas, or I may focus on the mining of mineral wealth – as in King Solomon’s fabled mines.
  • River Sunday: In a final sermon I hope to explore the history of water exploitation and the violation of watersheds in Ancient Israel and today.

A recent study reports that in 2016 environmentalists and earth-defenders were murdered at a rate never seen before. “More murders in more countries,” is says, “with a growing climate of impunity.” At the root center of this phenomenon are these four industries and their investors.

  • Deforestation
  • Agribusiness
  • Mining; and
  • Damming of Rivers

Please send me suggestions for scripture, commentary, books and articles, stories, etc. I have a number of ideas, but please assume I know nothing. I have a few weeks of vacation and plan a lot of beach reading.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Karen Scott permalink
    July 29, 2017 6:48 am

    Ghandi said that there is enough for everyone but not enough for everyone’s greed.

Leave a Reply

